Guide To Legislation

Finding Acts

button Definitions
button Structure of an Act
button Finding Acts Online…
button Or in the Law Library


Definitions
An Understanding of the following terms is useful

  • Legislation: The written law of a country, found in English law as Acts or Statutory Instruments.
  • An Act of Parliament (also known as a statute) can be defined as "A document that sets out legal rules and has (normally) been passed by both Houses of Parliament in the form of a Bill and agreed to by the Crown (see royal assent).”1
  • Statutory Instrument: A form of delegated legislation, often seen as "Rules", "Orders" or "Regulations". Primarily it specifies the detailed rules needed for an Act to function.
The structure of an Act

Understanding the structure of an Act can be of great help to you when searching for, and reading, Acts. The example featured below shows you the key parts of an Act.

1. Short Title: Access to Medical Reports Act 1988 (c. 28)

2. Chapter no:1988 Chapter c. 28
Each Act has a chapter number (abbreviated to ‘c.’, ‘ch.’ or ‘cap’). Acts are given chapter numbers in sequence throughout the calendar year as they receive Royal Assent i.e. move from being a Bill to an Act.

3. Long Title: An Act to establish a right of access by individuals to reports relating to themselves provided by medical practitioners for employment or insurance purposes and to make provision for related matters

4. Date of royal Assent: [29th July 1988]
The date that the Bill became an act. See also commencement.

5. Enacting formula: Be it enacted by the Queen's most Excellent Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Lords Spiritual and Temporal, and Commons, in this present Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:—

6. Parts, sections and sub-sections: the body of the Act.

7. Interpretation: definitions of terms used in the Act.
(usually found near the end of an Act)

8. Commencement and geographic extent: commencement is the date at which the Act becomes law, and can differ from date of royal assent. Indeed, parts of the same Act can commence on different dates.
[….]
(2) This Act shall come into force on 1st January 1989.

(3) Nothing in this Act applies to a medical report prepared before the coming into force of this Act.

(4) This Act does not extend to Northern Ireland


-------------------------------------------
Access to Medical Reports Act 1988 (c. 28) Office of Public Sector Information. © Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament.



Additional Help Guides

button Individual database help guides are available from the database pages or Library guides page.

Finding Acts Online…
Digital Library
You can search for Acts from the SubjectSearch page for legislation. The following sources are worth noting:

Library Catalogue
There are often books in the Library stock that deal with key legislation. These can be found using the catalogue– enter the title of the act or the subject matter.
e.g. title: Police and Criminal Evidence Act
or
e.g. subject: criminal law

LexisLibrary and Westlaw both provide up-to-date databases of acts and statutory instruments. Westlaw provides access to an easy to use ‘analysis’ which prove further information and relevant cases – very useful!

The Office of Public Sector Information provides access to the full text of Acts of the UK parliament since 1988. They appear in orignal form (they are not updated). The site is useful because the acts are published on the Net simultaneously or within 24 hours of publication in print form.

The Explanatory Notes is useful for public acts published since 1999. These are useful because they are designed to aid understanding and place the effect of an Act in context.

Or In the Law Library…

To find a particular act in the University Library you must check the indexes of the series listed below. Individual Acts are not listed on the Library catalogue (OPAC).
All of these series are in the Law Collection on the First Floor of the Chelmsford Campus Library, arranged alphabetically by title. Those marked * are also available at the Cambridge Campus Library.

*Current Law Statutes
Annual volumes of this series are held from 1949 onwards. Each volume contains the acts of the year arranged by chapter number. There is an index by short title and a chronological table in the front of each volume.
Acts for the current year are contained within the looseleaf Service Files. Blue paper means no notes yet!
Why is it useful?
Each act is accompanied by notes that explain and comment upon it. These notes appear in the text in smaller print. Not only do the notes help in understanding the act but they also provide information on parliamentary debates and reports that led to its implementation.

*Halsbury’s Statutes
This series contains the amended text all Public General Acts in force, plus commentary and notes. Volumes are updated when there is a major change in an area of law. Check the date of a volume to evaluate how current the information is.
Why is it useful?
It is the main source for finding acts on a particular subject and for up-to-date versions of acts.

Law Report Statutes
These are the texts of the acts as they were when first published, with no updating. Arranged in annual volumes 1866 – 1935.

Public and General Acts
Annual volumes published by the Council of Law Reporting 1937 - 1973.

Statutes at Large
Contains older acts dating from 1225.

*Looseleaf Encyclopaedias
Look in the book stock for Looseleaf Encyclopaedias on your subject. These pull together acts, statutory instruments, guidance notes, treaties etc. on a particular subject.



Further Help

1 "Act of Parliament" A Dictionary of Law. Ed. Elizabeth A. Martin. Oxford University Press, 2002. Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press. Anglia Ruskin University. 1 June 2005
http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/ENTRY.html?subview=Main&entry=t49.e55